Monthly Supplier Showcase
Located on rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, the Bristol emerged as one of the top Paris hotels by 1877, when ex-president Ulysses S. Grant and his entourage stayed there for five weeks during his post-presidency world tour.[ In 1923, Hippolyte Jammet purchased the property of Julles de Castellane on the Faubourg. Jammet’s mission was to transform this mansion into one of the most luxurious hotels. The name Hôtel Le Bristol, which had been familiar in Place Vendôme from the mid-19th century until World War I, derives originally from the Bishop Frederick Augustus Hervey, 4th Earl of Bristol, known for his high demand for luxury when he travelled on the Continent during the 18th century. Hotel le Bristol opened in 1925.
During the Second World War, beginning in June 1940, Hôtel Le Bristol would become the home of the American embassy and American nationals living in Paris during the War. Hippolyte Jammet succeeded in keeping his hotel and during the war worked to maintain its prestige, carrying out renovation projects as well as maintenance.
In 1978, Hôtel Le Bristol was acquired by Rudolf August Oetker, founder of the German industrial group Oetker, and an owner of other hotels on the French Rivera. Oetker began extension work in the 1980s, which included expansion of the hotel’s rooms, restoration of the garden and a 6th floor swimming pool with views of the Parisian skyline.
In 1994, Pierre Ferchaud was appointed the manager of the Hotel. He would later become the managing director. During his time managing the hotel, Ferchaud converted some of the guestrooms into luxury suites. In 2004, the hotel underwent a huge restoration and renovation. 2004 also saw the creation of Hotel Le Bristol’s “fashion high teas”. In 2005 the Bar of Le Bristol was refurbished.
In 2007 Le Bristol acquired the building next door; this purchase allowed the hotel to become more prominent on the corner of avenue Matignon and rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré. This also allowed for the hotel to show sculptural exhibits.
In 2009, the Matignon Residence, Hôtel Le Bristol’s renovation of the next door building, was unveiled with an additional twenty-one rooms and five suites, as well as a new restaurant, 114 Faubourg.
In 2010, the Hôtel Le Bristol recruited a new manager, Didier Le Calvez. From 2010 until 2016, the hotel completed a six-year, $190 million renovation. It was fitted with two new honeymoon suites, offering views of Paris. The Restaurant was renovated in a French style, while still serving up the same food. A children’s play area and hair salon have also been added
This is a Paragraph. Click on "Edit Text" or double click on the text box to start editing the content and make sure to add any relevant details or information that you want to share with your visitors.